Possible

When God Doesn't Move the Mountain - Purposeful Faith

Joining with the #Five Minute Friday Community of writers to write for 5 minutes on a one word prompt. Today’s prompt is: Possible.

This was my bible reading this morning:

Have faith in God,” Jesus answered. “Truly tell you, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in their heart but believes that what they say will happen, it will be done for them. [Mark 11:22-23]

This passage brings up a few difficulties, is it possible for God to move our mountains? Yes it is. I do believe that, but yet at the same time often my mountains aren’t moved.

I could tie myself in knots trying to come to terms with what this passage means and how the reality of it in my own life can look very different.

However, I do believe that just as God is bigger than our mountains, so is He bigger than our faith, bigger than our prayers and that He doesn’t need our faith or our prayers to carry out His work or fulfill His promises.

Yes I believe all things are possible with God. Yes I believe God can move my mountains, but I also believe that sometimes God keeps the mountains there in front of us so that we rely on Him, so that our faith is in Him and not in our own worked-up faith.

All things are possible with God, even living with a mountain in front of you; even in the sitting waiting for that mountain to move; even in the endurance of the weight of that mountain on you.

God is the God of the impossible even when the impossible is living with a mountain.

13 thoughts on “Possible”

  1. “God is the God of the impossible even when the impossible is living with a mountain.” Amen! I was blessed to read your post this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perspective, I think we think things in the Bible happened in a moment because there is a short blurb but did God take Joseph out of jail quickly? No it was a long time, I am sure Joseph wanted out much sooner but the mountain remained until the fulness of time….so hard to accept.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish He’d move the mountains
    that stand up in my way,
    make life a field of fountains
    with unicorns at play,
    all rainbows and bright butterflies
    aloft on jewel-clad wings;
    oh, would this delight my eyes
    were He to do these things!
    But what, then, of the task he set
    for me when cancer came;
    would he want me to forget
    each and every name
    of those whom I could help support
    as they sailed to Final Port?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. When the mountain doesn’t move I remember even Jesus experienced it. He prayed earnestly for God to remove the cross, but it was still a part of His experience.

    Amie, FMF #30

    Like

  5. This is so good, and what really jumped out at me — “sometimes God keeps the mountains there in front of us so that we rely on Him, so that our faith is in Him and not in our own worked-up faith.” Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment