Both

I apologize to the #fmf community for not being with you for a while, been BOTH busy and also writing! BOTH is the one word prompt from today in the community of writers.

We have been looking at the Psalms of lament in our Bible Study this week and it amazes me how the Psalmist can hold both doubt and trust, despair and hope, lament and praise at the same time.

But we too experience that tension between faith and doubt in our lives. We believe, yes firmly and steadfastly, yet at the same time when we worry and allow our circumstances to overwhelm us we doubt God is able for that specific thing. We hold both trust and unbelief in our hands.

Perhaps we are just like the father we read about in Mark’s gospel chapter 9; his son was sick, he was worried; he was more than worried, he was probably despairing at each and every convulsion the boy had, what could he do, how could he get his son better? So he comes to Jesus and asks if it is possible if He could do something. Jesus tests him and says: “Everything is possible for one who believes.” and we get that and in our good moments we believe that, but in our fear and anxiety, like the father we cry out: “I believe, help me overcome my unbelief” .

We hold both in our hands belief and unbelief, but our God is faithful and He doesn’t act according to our faith, but according to His own faithfulness!

10 thoughts on “Both”

  1. I really enjoyed your post. I love the Psalms, there is so much richness and beauty in them. God knew we would need these wonderful songs/prayers for times we can’t find the words to pray. They also encourage us that things don’t stay bad forever.
    i was encouraged by your post. Thank you and God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fiona, this is so good. One of the recent sermons in our church was moving from unbelief to belief, and how we can and do hold both oftentimes. Great post. Thanks. Your FMF neighbour at #3 this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I believe it but I don’t;
    I want it but how can it be?
    The promises are great but don’t
    seem like they apply to me.
    My faith is strong but maybe not
    enough to win the shining prize
    for I am thinking God forgot
    to keep me under His great eyes,
    for the water’s rising high,
    lapping just beneath my chin,
    and the drowning-moment’s nigh,
    so the healing should begin
    very soon, or so I wishes
    lest I be sleeping with the fishes.

    Like

Leave a comment